top of page
  • Kristin Ramey

5 more Lambs

We had 5 more lambs born. Two were born to Skadi overnight, Lyra and Jyn. When I came in early morning, Dancer had just had one and was still cleaning him off (R2D2), and I was able to watch her give birth to C3P0. I actually got it on video on my cellphone, so the quality is about as good as the photos below. I will likely post it to our youtube channel. It's a little graphic, as births generally are. But she was so concerned about cleaning off her first lamb, that she kept standing up during labor, and the poor little fella actually fell to the ground. He's just fine, but it's surprising to watch.

Anyhow, we split them up into different stalls during the day, because the lambs seemed confused about who belonged to which mama. That left both our stalls closed for the day, and we thought the weather would be fine for all the other lambs that are all at least a week old now.

Angel ended up giving birth during the day. One little lamby, R5D4. We looked all over the arena just in case she had two and one got lost. It happened to us once and it was very sad. We didn't find any evidence of a second lamb, even though she looked huge and her udders could feed an army.

I looked around the pasture as well, as best I could after dark. Some of the dogs have access to where the lambs are. The placentas were gone, I blame Moose, he loves to eat them. But just wondering if any of the pups might have gotten attached to a lamb and moved it. Hercules likes to hug them, Loki hasn't spent as much time with them. I doubt any of them would hurt one, but I looked just in case, and found no evidence of foul play.

So here are our 5 newest additions. Continuing some of the fun new color variations we are seeing this year!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page