top of page
  • Kristin Ramey

First Lambs of 2017

Updated: Mar 1, 2022

I had my money on Freyja!

Every morning when I let the sheep out, I do a bit of a walk around. I get to see who's pregnant, who might not be, sometimes see the rams in action. But I've been watching the size of my ewes' udders grow and it gives me an idea of who might lamb soon.

I had my money on Freyja!

Now, Angel, by far has the biggest bags. But most of the ladies' bags get to be the size of a BASKETBALL before they birth. They are so big, they get in the way of their rear legs. That's why I knew Angel wasn't going to go first.

I had my money on Freyja!

She has sneaked in the first birth in a batch the last time. And her bags were about the size of a women's water polo ball. Not that I expect most of you to be familiar with that - it's smaller than a volleyball, but bigger than a softball.

I had my money on Freyja! And she gave birth last night!

Good job, Mama! She's very attentive to the littles, and they all seem to be well bonded and feeding well.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page